alex miller

Alex Miller's twelfth novel, The Passage of Love, is his most autobiographical novel yet, an ambitious story of the writer's early struggles and loves from the vantage of old age.

Alex is twice winner of Australia's premier literary prize, the Miles Franklin Literary Award, first in 1993 for The Ancestor Game and again in 2003 for Journey to the Stone Country.

He is an overall winner of the Commonwealth Writers' Prize, in 1993 for The Ancestor Game.

His fifth novel Conditions of Faith won the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction in the 2001 NSW Premier's Awards.

In 2011 he won this award for the second time with his novel Lovesong. In 2007 Landscape of Farewell was published to wide critical acclaim and in 2008 won the Chinese Annual Foreign Novels 21st Century Award for Best Novel and the Manning Clark Medal for an outstanding contribution to Australian cultural life.

Following the publication of Autumn Laing he was awarded the prestigious Melbourne Prize for Literature in 2012. His novel, Coal Creek, won the 2014 Victorian Premier's Literary Award.

Alex is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities and a recipient of the Centenary Medal for an outstanding contribution to Australian cultural life.  


history and fiction

With Tom Griffiths

love story

With Fiona Parker